02.55 – Fruition

02-55-ss02

Hands deep in the soil, knees sore and what felt like an entire branch full of leaves up her nose. Ellie was happy.

She grinned as the plant began to sparkle and shift below her hands, the roots shifting against her fingers as they grew stronger and settled once more. Sometimes she imagined that she could hear the plants talking back to her.

It wasn’t that she was lonely, as such. It was impossible to be lonely in a house with six other people. Still, sometimes the only person she felt really understood her was her papa. She’d managed to get Leo to help her with the harvesting, but he had flat out refused to do the rest. Her sister was too easily distracted to be of much help, as much as she tried, and Al…

Al was completely wrapped up in his new relationship. It was sweet, really. She was still helping him work on his self-esteem, but the rest of his time was either taken up with painting or his girlfriend. Not that he’d asked Yaritza to be his girlfriend yet, but it was only a matter of time.

02-55-ss03

Shea kept asking to help with the rocket, sweetheart that she was, but Lor had taken one look at her holding a blow torch and freaked out. Ellie could understand that, what with the torch being more than half the size of the little girl, but she found herself wishing that her little cousin would just grow up already. She could use a sidekick. All the best space pirates had a companion.

02-55-ss04

“We should be able to finish this tonight,” Ellie called over to Lor, wiping her forehead with a dirty hand. It had taken them almost two years, but it was worth every moment. The S.S.S. Aurora was so close to space ready she could almost taste it. Actually, she winced, that was probably engine oil she could taste. Yuck.

02-55-ss05

S.S.S. stands for Sexy Sixan Spaceship. Not that Ellie would admit it. That’s what you get for letting a teenager name things. Especially space things.

02-55-ss06

Ahhhh father-daughter bonding time. Sweet~

02-55-ss07

It’s finished ❤

“No flying tonight, ok? I want to do a couple of safety checks first,” Lor said, grinning at her with such enthusiasm that the years seemed to be falling away from him in front of her eyes so that, for a moment, he almost looked young again.

“Can’t you do them now?”

He smiled, shaking his head. “It’s one in the morning, Ella. Wouldn’t you rather wait until tomorrow, so we can all wave you off?”

She pouted, considering it. It did sound appealing.

“Please,” he continued, “for me?”

Well, how could she refuse?

“Ok.”

He drew her into a hug, and she smiled against his shoulder. “Goodnight, Ellie. Sleep well.”

~~*~~

02-55-ss08

Maybe that fourth cup of coffee had been a bad idea, she finally admitted as she completed yet another lap of the pool. There was no way she was going to be getting any sleep tonight. Maybe she’d take tomorrow- well, she amended, today off school. She could do some checks of her own before the flight, that way.

“Are you actually mad?” came a voice from behind her.

Ellie turned quickly, mouth open, only to promptly choke on the water. She spluttered for a few moments and looked up into the amused eyes of a particularly lovely redhead. Wow, Ellie, smooth. This whole embarrassment thing was becoming a regular occurrence.

“Hi, Ash,” she managed, eyes watering. “What are you doing up?”

“I could ask the same of you,” the other girl said, biting her lip to keep from laughing. “Other than drowning, obviously.”

Ellie hoisted herself out of the pool and walked over, a faint grey blush still in her cheeks. “Couldn’t sleep. Too much caffeine.”

“Ah,” Ash nodded. “I get that.”

Ellie looked around and cursed under her breath. Of course she’d forgotten to get a towel before jumping in the water. That would have been sensible. She looked over at her friend again, trying not to shiver.

“So? How about you?”

02-55-ss09

“There’s meant to be a great view of the Talon nebula tonight, but there are clouds everywhere. I was looking for some clear sky, and…” she paused, looking up, “… I’ve found it.”

Ellie grinned. “You don’t need to stand on the pavement, you know. The grass is far more comfortable if you want to lie down, and you won’t get a sore neck.”

“Are you sure?”

“Uh-huh,” she said, before gasping in excitement as she remembered the reason she had consumed so much coffee. “I finished the rocket! Want to see it?!”

02-55-ss10

“Plum yes! I can’t believe you didn’t lead with that.”

“Well, excuse me,” Ellie sniffed, “I was a bit preoccupied with trying to drink the swimming pool.”

02-55-ss11

“Well, if that’s the case,” she grinned, before leaning forward and tapping Ellie on the shoulder, “last one there’s a rotten banana!”

She watched in stunned silence as the redhead darted past her towards the rocket, then started to run after her. She wasn’t feeling so cold, anymore.

02-55-ss12

“Isn’t she a beauty?!” “Oh my word, yes! That is one gorgeous rocket.” “I know, right!”

02-55-ss13

“Ellie?” “Hmm?” “Is seeing a rocket’s blueprints like seeing it in it’s underwear?” “… why would you even think these things?”

02-55-ss14

“So, was the view worth the walk?” “Definitely.”

~~*~~

The lab was different at night. It somehow seemed sinister, as if he wasn’t meant to be there.

The again, Lor thought to himself as he crept through the room, that was probably because he wasn’t.

“Are you ready?” he asked.

02-55-ss17

“I think so.”

“I’m going to have to carry you bit by bit, so I’ll need your help. I don’t want to hurt you by disconnecting something vital.”

“I will do my best.”

02-55-ss18

Back and forth.

02-55-ss19

Piece by piece.

02-55-ss20

Down the stairs…

…and into the light.

~~*~~

POWER: RESTORED

LOCATION: UNKNOWN

STATUS CHECK: –

02-55-ss21

The circuits hummed as the scan was conducted.

STATUS CHECK: COMPLETE

NO ERRORS.

“Where am I?” Steve spoke to the empty room, not expecting an answer.

“Somewhere safe,” the answer came anyway.

A man walked into his line of vision. He looked nervous, and expression that conflicted worryingly with his previous statement.

“Are you well?” he asked. That was the appropriate question for this situation, he reasoned.

The hand that reached out to pat the side of his head was warm. “I’m fine, Steve. How are you? I tried to do everything the way you explained.”

“There are no errors.”

02-55-ss22

Lorcán smiled. “I’m glad. So, what do you think of your new home? It’s only until I can make you a more mobile body, but I hope you’ll be comfortable here.”

A new body?

The man kept talking, his sentences running into each other in a way that was highly illogical.

“… and I programmed the television to respond to your voice, so you can watch whatever you like,” he was saying, waving one hand at the small screen above the door. “I didn’t know what colours you liked, so I haven’t put up any paintings yet…”

This was quickly becoming overwhelming.

“Lorcán?”

“Yes?”

“Why?”

02-55-ss23

“Because you’re my friend. I promised I wouldn’t let them get you, and I meant it.”

His circuits whirred loudly. Lor smiled. “You sound like a cat when you do that, did you realise?”

Steve had never seen a cat, but he made a note to look one up when the opportunity presented itself. Maybe there would be cats on one of the television channels.

“Now, let me show you the ideas I’ve had so far. You’ll get the final say in the design, because you’ll be the one living in it, but I wanted to show you a few options for your future body.”

02-55-ss24

He could choose?

He had a future?

Had he been physically capable of it, Steve would have smiled.

12 thoughts on “02.55 – Fruition

    • 😀 I have such plans for him…
      I love him so much – I was hoping to have an excuse to bring him into the story more ever since Lissi met him. I mean, without him Lor would never have been born!
      Lets hope he doesn’t bring about the apocalypse, in any case =p

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Aww Ellie! I love seeing her bond with Lor so much. Hoping for clear skies and a safe takeoff! And for smooth sailing with Ash too, nudgenudgewinkwink. 😀

    I’m so glad Lor managed to transport Steve safely! What a lovely thing to happen, and Lor is so kind for making Steve’s new place so accessible for him and customised to his needs. He’s a great friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wowza, I’m up to date! I love everything about this legacy, and I’m excited to see where things travel.

    One thing I really love is the… quietness, of so many characters being gay. Like with Lor… There was no big reveal of “omg I like guys instead of girls” or anything. And the same is happening with Ellie. Its just nice to not have it made into a big deal for a change.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! 😀 I’m so happy you enjoyed it. I’ve been ill for a while, but I’m hoping to get back to posting over the next couple of days 🙂 I miss my sweet chaotic alien family!

      It makes me really happy that you like how I write gay characters into the story – I’m a lesbian myself, so it’s something very close to my heart. It’s the way I wish it was outside of my story – no big deal of having to come out again and again and again for the rest of my life, worrying about whether the person is going to be homophobic. Or having to judge whether someone is going to get violent before you even attempt to subtly flirt with them. Just acceptance and not being treated any differently.

      I love all my characters so much, and I love the world that’s kind of grown around them – I’m really happy that you do too 🙂

      Like

      • Yeah, its definitely the way it should be! Im bi-romantic asexual, and even my boyfriend still doesnt totally understand it! I don’t even bother telling people bc its such a pain in the bum to try and explain what that means for me haha.

        Hope you’re feeling better soon 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

