2.47 – Threes

“Don’t you trust me?”

“Lor, don’t take this the wrong way,” Helen said, her eyes narrowed on the flask in his hands, “but no. Last time you gave me a potion I ended up in a blind rage for three hours.”

“That’s what was supposed to happen.’

“But you didn’t tell me that, did you?”

Lor grinned at her.  “Only because you didn’t give me a chance. You pretty much snatched it out of my hand.”

“It smelt really good. Not my fault.”

“Look, just give me a chance. You’re not well, and I’ve made something to fix that. Will you test it?”

02-48-ss01

“What’s in it?”

Lor averted his gaze. “You know… this and that. Please?”

“Fine, but if I end up worse then you have to buy me some proper medicine. Deal?”

“Deal.”

02-48-ss0202-48-ss03

Whoops. 

~~*~~

It was hard to think of Margarita as an old lady. She still had the energy and vibrancy of the woman he had met when he had been a humble lab technician.

02-48-ss04

It was the little things that gave her away.

02-48-ss05

Still, she had plenty of time left, right?

02-48-ss06

Oh no. No no no no no.

02-48-ss0702-48-ss0802-48-ss0902-48-ss1002-48-ss11

Grief and relief battled inside Lor’s mind. Alexander had only recently been transferred to their lab, and here he was. Dead. He’d barely even known the man, and now he never would.

~~*~~

02-48-ss12

Gardening helped, strangely enough. It made him feel safe.

Nothing was safe today, however.

02-48-ss13

“What happened?!”

“I-”

“You’ve got to be more careful!” he yelled. Tears started falling down his face. “We can’t lose you, too. Not today.”

The young woman flinched away from him, eyes wide and scared. “I… I’m sorry. My hand slipped and I just-”

“No,” Lor said, quieter this time. “I’m sorry. I shouldn’t have shouted at you. Are you ok?”

She started crying, and he felt even worse.

“There are some showers upstairs. Get some cold water over yourself and I’ll see if I can find some burn cream.”

She nodded, sniffling.

“I’m sorry, Miss…”

“Mary. Mary Behr. My aunt Yuki used to work here.”

“She was a wonderful woman.”

“She said you were a good man, too,” she replied, before turning and leaving the room.

I’m so sorry.

~~*~~

“Mal?”

02-48-ss14

“Lor… it’s my mum.”

02-48-ss1502-48-ss16

They say that bad things come in threes.

02-48-ss17

Looks like they were right.

7 thoughts on “2.47 – Threes

    • It was such an awful day for them all 😦 I’m so glad that Mary didn’t die, and I was in such a panic when the reaper appeared. I really thought that it would be Margarita.
      Shea’s going to be living with us, now. I really wasn’t expecting that to happen so early. Poor Mal, poor Shea and poor kids.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

