1.11 – The Times, They Are A-Changin’

01.11 SS01

Married life was comfortingly normal, Lissa and Morgan found. They had been living together for a good few years before marriage, and the schedules they had settled into over that time were still present.

Morgan still painted in her free time, her pictures becoming more skilled with each passing month. They sold well, now, as her name became known in the local art communities.

01.11 SS02

Her job was progressing nicely, and as a Field Agent she found that her new contacts in the art world were very useful when dealing with certain types of criminals. Her job was dangerous, but she knew that she would always come home. Lissa would be waiting for her, and that was incentive enough.

~~*~~

01.11 SS03

Whilst their home life had stayed the same, life outside had changed. Rashad had mellowed with old age, and had become fast friends with Summer. They were often found sitting at the picnic tables, talking about life, the universe and everything. Morgan sometimes joined them, finding herself surprisingly engrossed in the tales being told.

“Did I ever tell you about the Llama-duck that stole my parents’ lawn chairs? I was still a child at the time, but I remember it well. I was woken up in the middle of the night by rustling outside.  I got out of bed and peeked out of the window. I had to stand on my tiptoes because I was so short, but I saw it. 6 foot tall, with the body of a large duck but the head of a Llama. It had a tractor and trailer parked on the road, and it would waddle up to a chair, headbutt it until it collapsed and then use its mouth to drag the chair and throw it into the trailer. It did this five times in all, then it climbed into the front seat and drove away. I don’t know how it could drive without hands and with such short legs, but it didn’t commit any traffic violations at all!”

Morgan wasn’t sure how much of the stories were true, but they were fun regardless.

One day, Rashad took her aside.

“Look, I know I’ve not been the nicest of people. Maybe that’s an understatement. There are things I regret, and I’d like a chance to make them right whilst I still can. Will you ask your wife to meet me here? I’ve got something to say to her.”

01.11 SS04

“I was awful to you when we met. I’d never seen an alien before, and all I’d heard were tales of abductions and experiments and mind control. You tried to be friendly and I threw it in your face. When you threatened me with that strange device later on, I hated you even more. Looking back at it now, though, I really deserved it. Also, you really couldn’t have done anything more than whacked me round the head with it. What I’m trying to say is that I’m sorry. I was wrong about you. Will you forgive this silly old man?”

01.11 SS05

Lissa smiled. “I think I can do that.”

“Now, Miss Lissa, have you ever heard of the Loch Sim Monster?”

“Oooooh. I haven’t.”

“Well, I once knew a man who saw it. Forty foot long, with hedgehog spikes down its spine and a kazoo in its mouth. It was summer, about-” he paused and thought, “my word, thirty-five years ago? It was a bright, sunny day, just like this one…”

~~*~~

Not everyone was so relaxed about he passing of time. Dominic was feeling his age, and beginning to worry.

01.11 SS06

“They grey hair suits you, Dad.”

“It’s not me I’m worried about, Morgan. I’ve been trying to let things go at their own pace, but I am getting old and… well…”

“What is it?”

“Have you ever thought about having children?” Dominic asked. “Siobhan and Sergio are still together, but he hates children. I’d really like to live to see at least one grandchild.”

Morgan was shocked. For her dad to feel like this was almost unheard of. He was always so cheerful.

“I don’t know if it’s possible for us, dad. I mean, Lissa and I are happy together but we’re from different species. I don’t know if we’re able to have a child. That’s not even considering the fact that we’re both women.”

“But when people get abducted, they sometimes come back pregnant. Wouldn’t that mean that it’s possible?”

01.11 SS07

“I don’t know, dad.”

“It’s ok, Morgan. We didn’t mean to upset you” Moira said. She was taking her old age in her stride, and was determined to help her husband do the same. “We still have plenty of time. There’s always adoption, too.”

“Would they allow us to adopt? I mean we aren’t really conventional parents.” Morgan said. She would have been lying if she said she hadn’t thought about it. Luckily, Lissa chose that time to return home, so she was spared the rest of that train of thought.

01.11 SS08

“Ah, Lissa! It’s good to see you.”

“You too! You look great, Moira.” Lissa said, and then noticed Dominic’s downcast expression. “Is everything ok?”

01.11 SS09

“Everything’s fine, dear. We were just talking.”

“I was wondering,” Dominic said, turning to her, “if you were thinking about starting a family of your own soon.”

Lissa looked at Morgan, who looked back with a sad smile on her face.

“Dad’s feeling old,” she mouthed over as an explanation. Lissa nodded in understanding.

“We’ve talked about it before” Lissa said, “but we aren’t sure if it’s possible.”

“How about abduction? Could you pull some strings and maybe sort something out that way?”

“Dad!”

“I’m sorry, Morgan. I have to ask.”

“It’s ok, Morgan. I’m not offended.” Lissa said. “There are a few problems with that. For one thing, so far there has only been success getting male sims pregnant. It has been tried with female sims, but it just hasn’t worked yet. Secondly, any baby conceived that way would be pure alien.”

His shoulder slumped at the news.

“I can ask my mother if there has been any progress on that front, Dominic. If we can’t go that route, then adoption could be the way to go. Right, Momo?”

“Right.”

 

01.11 SS10

The rest of the conversation was slightly stilted, but by the end Dominic was back to his normal cheerful self. The weight had been lifted from his shoulders, and even if nothing came of it he was glad that it was gone. Moira noticed the difference, and was relieved.

01.11 SS1101.11 SS12

“We should head home now, dear. I know Morgan has work in the morning, and you’ve got plenty to do around here, Lissa. We’ll see you soon.”

“Goodnight, both of you. Have a safe journey home.”

Lissa watched them leave with conflicted emotions.

“Are you coming to bed?”

01.11 SS13

“I’ll be right there.”

“I’m sorry about my parents, Lissi. They care about us.”

“Momo, are you happy? With it being just the two of us?”

“I’ve never been happier. Would I like children if it were possible? Yes. But do I need them to be happy? No. All I need to be happy is you.”

Lissa sighed with relief. She’d needed to hear that. She wrapped her arms around her wife and kissed her cheek.

“Thank you.”

“Come inside, love.”

As they lay together, sated and relaxed, Lissa made up her mind. She snuggled closer. “I’ll write to my mum in the morning, see if she has any ideas.”

Morgan just smiled sleepily and kissed her again.

 

(A/N: here is a llama-duck – I couldn’t resist)

llamaduck

19 thoughts on “1.11 – The Times, They Are A-Changin’

  1. It’ll be interesting to see how a child comes to be. One has to if the legacy is going to continue. If they can’t adopt (sometimes the powers that be are reluctant to grant adoptions to someone who’s different. Trust me, I know. Long story) and if Lissa’s mother doesn’t have any ideas, they could always get a sperm donor to take care of business. Wondering how this will turn out. 🙂

    Like

    • I may have decided to bend the rules a little bit to get screenshots for the ‘how’ part of it, but the legacy shall continue one way or another! Hopefully in the Sims the adoption agencies aren’t so set in their ways as they can be in life.

      Like

  2. Lmao the llama-duck! Bhahahaha!

    How lovely to see Rashad come around. And I totally get where the Fyres parents are coming from. With this being a legacy I’m sure there will be children, but I’m really interested to see what you come up with in terms of the how part!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rashad really did mellow a lot over time – I was surprised 🙂 And yeah, I understand where they’re coming from too. I mean, Siobhan and Sergio are unlikely to tie the knot any time soon – they want to have a chance to meet the next generation before it’s too late.

      Like

Leave a Reply

